Huron Shores Area Transit (HSAT) serves the residents of Lambton Shores, Kettle & Stony Point FN, South Huron, Bluewater, and North Middlesex. We are funded by an Ontario Community Transportation Grant (CTA program) of $3,065,946:

  • 2018 – 2023 (March 31): $2 million
  • 2023 (April 1) – 2025 (March 31): $1,065,946

The funding was part of $14 million the province committed in support of public transit to 38 Ontario communities.

Fast Facts

  • $10 long distance fare / $5 local fare.
  • Children 12 and under ride free with an adult.
  • 2 buses.
  • 4 bus routes.
  • 1 bus serves 3 routes.
  • 22 towns/villages served.
  • 51 bus stops.
  • Route 2 bus switches at noon to service Route 3 and Route 4.
  • Bus Hub is Sobeys Plaza (Grand Bend).
  • Bus Hub enables passengers to transfer between buses to reach other destinations.

Route 1: Sarnia to Grand Bend. Three bus runs per day, seven days per week. Stops at Sarnia, Forest, Arkona, Thedford, Kettle & Stony Point, Army Camp Rd., Port Franks, Northville, and Grand Bend.

Route 2: Grand Bend to London. Two bus runs per day, seven days per week. Stops at Grand Bend, Dashwood, Exeter, Huron Park, Centralia, Lucan, and London.

Route 3: Grand Bend to Goderich. Operates three afternoons per week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday), two bus runs per day. Stops at Grand Bend, St. Joseph, Zurich, Hensall, Bayfield, and Goderich.

Route 4: Grand Bend to Strathroy: Operates two afternoons per week (Tuesday and Thursday), two bus runs per day. Stops at Parkhill, Ailsa Craig, and Strathroy.

Meet the Transit Advisory Committee

The Transit Advisory Committee emerged in 2019 from the earlier 2018 Huron Shores Transit Steering Committee, which formed as a grassroots advocacy group from business owners and organizations and social agencies who over a number of years had identified affordable housing and public transit as major opportunities for rural community sustainability.

The role of the Transit Advisory Committee is to a sounding board and feedback mechanism for the Transit Coordinator and to connect Huron Shores Area Transit to its constituent municipal partners (Lambton Shores, Kettle & Stony Point First Nation, South Huron, North Middlesex and Bluewater).

Members on the Committee represent the municipal partners and key business and social agencies.

  • Bruce Shaw – retired Executive Director of Community Living South Huron, former principal of South Huron District High School, long-time Grand Bend Rotary Club member
  • Cindy Maxfield – Health Promotion and Partnership Coordinator with Grand Bend Area Community Health Centre
  • Darren Boyle – Director with Grand Bend & Area Chamber of Commerce, hockey and softball coach
  • Doug Cook – Mayor of Lambton Shores and official representative from the municipality
  • Glen Baillie – Chair, Past-President of Grand Bend & Area Chamber of Commerce, Lambton Shores Councillor, local business owner, and community volunteer
  • Janet Ferguson – Treasurer of Lambton Shores and managing supervisor of Huron Shores Area Transit
  • Kyle Walker – Job Developer with Cooperative Education and Employment Ontario at Lambton College
  • Lorri Kerrigan – Social Planner in the Social Planning and Children’s Services Department for the County of Lambton
  • Lynne VanHaaren – recently retired Firm Administrator at MPW Chartered Professional Accountants LLP, Club Manager of Forest Curling Club, long-time Director on Forest BIA Board of Directors
  • Rebekah Msuya-Collison – Municipal Clerk of South Huron and official representative from the municipality
  • Todd Jardine – Executive Director of Southwind Corporate Development Inc., enhancing the First Nation’s stature as a business oriented community, official representative from the First Nation
  • Winona Bailey – Bluewater Councillor, official representative from the municipality, community volunteer